DK2M pickup swap--suggestions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DK2M pickup swap--suggestions?

Hey guys--I have one of the older MIJ DK2M shredders in snow white and I love it. Only problem is, the previous owner went from passive to active with it, installing an EMG 81/85 combo. Not a bad deal, but I would prefer passives. How hard is it to go back? (complete novice here)

Also, I think they came stock with the JB/59. But I had an alder body Charvel San Dimas Pro Mod with the same combo and I wasn't sold on that tone. Suggestions for a new combo? I'm not in a band or anything. Basically I plug this into my Roland Cube 20XL, throw it on Metal Stack, and jam along with my favorite classic rock and 80s metal tunes on Pandora (Journey, VH, Boston, etc). Just trying to get something I like. Leaning towards a Dimarzio Super Distortion in the bridge.

What say ye, DK2Mers?

I've put gravity storms in all my main players and I'm very happy with them......
    -Now....shut up n play yer guitar

Comment

If you can solder, it's not hard to swap back. You'll have more room in the control cavity due to not needing a battery.

The Dimarzio D'Activator X sounds great in my DK2 & the Super Distortion is pretty awesome as well. I'm an EMG guy
      but these 2 have made me realize what ive been missing out on.

Comment

"Leaning towards a Dimarzio Super Distortion in the bridge."

Last edited by Jacksons Rock; 06-26-2013, 03:27 PM.

Comment

If I did go SD in the bridge, what's a good neck PU to pair it with?

Comment

I recently installed the Dimarzio Dominion set. Love 'em! Or you could try the Tonezone/Evo combo. Another good setup
            Hail yesterday

Comment

Originally posted by jbird5150 View Post
              If I did go SD in the bridge, what's a good neck PU to pair it with?

PAF Pro

Comment

Super D and a PAF pro have worked well in every application I have put them in.