PDA

View Full Version : EMGs.. Sterile?

Json
11-22-2005, 01:46 PM
Hi!
I've heard a lot of people say that the EMGs are sterile and only suits for Metal, Is this true or can I get EMGs and play blues or rock with them?

Sorry If there Is an obvious answer to this, but I'm new to this pickup thing.

Thanks!

catzodellamarina
11-22-2005, 02:06 PM
1. Mutt guitar with an 89 bridge and neck S. The whole tone rocks or sweetens up with selector change. Very controllable. Best EMG combination I own.

2. 650XL with an 85,S,S that is too hot, feedsback, and is only suited for all rock/metal, no compromises.

3. Model 7 with the T-set. It doesn't get vintage Tele twang. It has a twang all it's own but would rather rock out.

My experience: EMG's like to be rode hard. They don't seem to get mellow response to backing off the volume pot like my Duncans. For balls out playing hard rock or metal, they are awesome.

Json
11-22-2005, 02:14 PM
Thanks for the answer!

DonP
11-22-2005, 02:28 PM
1. Charvel Fusion Deluxe with an 81 Bridge and an S neck. I find this works really well for Great White's "Rock Me". The single for the clean / jazzy blues parts, then kick in the 81 for the hard rock parts. BTW I have this wired for 18 volts.

2. 1. is the only axe I have with EMG's at the moment. I have a ZW set and a spare 85 but haven't hooked them up yet (damn KE3 - can't fit the battery in the cavity).

So, to answer your question, the singles seem very good for blues, and the 89 can be "split" for blues.

I know Gilmore used to use EMG's in Pink Floyd. Don't know what he currently uses.

SeventhSon
11-22-2005, 03:40 PM
If you put an 81 in the neck of a Paul, you will get that beautiful, singing "woman's tone".

XSSIVE
11-22-2005, 03:44 PM
i love the 85 in bridge and neck. i haven't had much luck with 81s since i find them a bit too agressive and bright in the guitars i tried them in.

-Mike

toejam
11-22-2005, 03:52 PM
[ QUOTE ]