High Action Versus Low Action

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High Action Versus Low Action

Hey guys, just wanted to see what you had on your JC's, and why? I have low action on my Mod 6, but I am thinking about getting it raised next time I send it in to a shop. Cheers! [img]/images/graemlins/toast.gif[/img]

Re: High Action Versus Low Action

I keep mine low so it's easier to do speedy pull-offs.
    I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.

My Blog: http://newcenstein.com

Comment

I started playing with an SL3 that I lowered the action on as much as possible, but now I am playing a Model 1 with the action about twice as high as I had on the soloist. I actually want that SL3 back, it was badass

Comment

i'm using a rather low action. i can deal with yngwie-ish action for rhythm playing (actually i prefer high action for rhythm), but i just cannot play lead with super high action. but then again, i likely couldn't play with the action below the frets like john petrucci [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

Comment

I try to get a spot where it is an even balance between speed and where I can grab the string to get vibrato.

Too low and I can't get clean vibratos when going fast. Too high and it slows me down.
          PLAY TILL U DIE !!!

Comment

I keep all my guitars with the action set low with D'Addario 9-42's. That is the comfort I am used to.
            Scott
            Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong.

Comment