Tips for amateur

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips for amateur

Hi,I have been playing guitar for 2 years and all that time I played my acoustic in this music school. They dont teach any electric instruments there and I recently joined my friends metal band. I have my Jackson coming soon and you know,its very hard to play Children Of Bodom with acoustic (if you have been playing for only 2 years). The other band members can like play anything they want from all jazz and classic to Steve Vai and Jimi Hendrix. I am the only one who cant. Now,I am starting to learn something more hard but I have some problems with these. Heres something I listed.

1.How long should I practise in one day(so there would be time for something else too)?
    2.What kind of excersises should I use?
    3.Tips for riffs (hard,easy,slow,fast)?
    4.Tips for solos and melody (hard,easy,slow,fast)?
    5.How to be more precise (picking,solos etc.)?
    6.How do I do all the different kind of harmonics (I know only the natural)?
    7.Are the Jackson JS series any good?

So thats it I think. Please help this amateur over here. If you wanna know,I use Cuenca acoustics.

Re: Tips for amateur

1. As long as it feels comfortable.
    2. Stretch before you practice. There are 1000 posts in this section with finger excersizes.
    3. Whatever style of music you want to play is what you should practice.
    4. Same as 3
    5. Practice.
    6. Someone else can explain that one, I don't have the time(show tonight, gotta fix the amp)
    7. I don't think so. I'd get a used Charvel Model 2 for the same price on eBay. Better guitar and no depreciation.

Comment

I would personally play some Metallica, Megadeth, Iron Maiden and stuff like that to practice riffing. Eventhough COB riffs aren't that much harder (if at all).

I recommend you check out www.cyberfret.com for further tech questions.