Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you find motivation to play after work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you find motivation to play after work?

I work in retail n dont get home til 11pm and i have NO motivation to play :-(

im gonna look into getting a better job but anyway how do u guys find the motivation after work?
    USA Jackson RR1
    Charvel Model 6
    Jackson Performer-2
    Orange Dark Terror
    EVH 5150 LBX
    Hello Senòr

Well, I can't speak for everyone, but I don't need to "find" motivation to play. I recently went back to school (yes, I'm 43) which added another 4 hours just in class time, not counting time for homework, so on top of everything else I still have to find time to stay in practice. I guess it just boils down to how bad you really want something. My shortage is time, not motivation. There's just not enough hours in the day sometimes.
    In memory of Gary Wright 9/13/2012

Comment

I work 12-hour shifts in a factory, but it's broken up into 48 hours one week, 36 the next, so I'm off Mon, Tues, Fri-Sun one week, but work those days the next, though I'll occasionally pick up the guitar when I get home, especially if I've got a riff in my head or an idea for something I've been working on recently.

A while back, I took one of my guitars to work so I could noodle at breaks and lunch, outside in the smoking area with my laptop. I was able to cut a few tracks, and lay down some rough sketches, because I kept thinking of new things between breaks.

It's not that I can't find the motivation on most days, I just spend a lot of time going over stuff in my head, piecing it all together, visualizing it, so that when I do pick up a guitar I have a clear picture of what I want to play, rather than just bang out riff after riff of "oh hey, lemme develop that further" and end up with another 50 riff ideas