Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hard to express myself through music.

Hello,

I've been playing guitar for almost 4 years now and I was never into learning someone else songs - I always wanted to write my own stuff. I can do some major type of melodies, almost vocal like. Sometimes I like to use dorian sounds, to give that melancholic vibe. But when it comes to down to playing I metal and writing my own riffs, I always get stuck and start to write some metalcorish shit ( gonna add a gp file to show what kind of stuff ussualy comes out), but I'm not satisfied with it. Ofcourse, I listen to it, sometimes it sounds decent, but it isn't realy reflecting my feelings, it isn't reflecting myself, my soul - in short, it's hard for me to express myself as a musician. Please, HELP ME !

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/78706205/bru...gian_meeen.gp5 <- link to the riff.

Didn't check it out, at work. Thing is, if your technique and ability aren't up to par, then you'll have more trouble expressing yourself. You say you don't want to learn other peoples songs, but that is handy. Find a song you like, feel it, and see what they do to express it.
    "Today, I shat a brown monolith ..majestic enough for gods to stand upon" BillZ aka horns666

Comment

At first identify what feel and what kind of music you want to make. Then find music having the similar feel as the one you are trying to create. Learn that music, play specially attention to the chord progressions and forms (like bar versions or add9s or 5th chords). Not trying to offend you but from what you said it seems as if you do not having enough music vocabulary at the feel you are trying to create. So find songs which have similar feeling and emotion and learn the chords and licks of those songs. Learning others song is like learning new words, the more you know the easier it will be to express yourself.