Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Your opinions on where to start out to be a versatile guitar player.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your opinions on where to start out to be a versatile guitar player.

the facts:

i started out learning system of a down and children of bodom songs, mostly riffs, some slower leads. after 4 years of doing this i quit playing. 1,5 year after that i started playing again. playing that same major and minor scale up and down the neck, and some gilbert. got faster and faster, started playing some stevie ray vaughan, robben ford, and scott henderson blues. here's where my brain started working (improvisation). which has led to some dann huff, steve lukather, michael landau type soloing. both technique and brain. so thats where i am now.

the question:

do you think it matters where you start out? if you start playing blues like jimi hendrix stuff and then speed up so you can play faster music? i know a lot of players who have an awesome phrasing and often play things i would never had thought of, but they have a very very poor technique. maybe it's better to start with music that requiers alot of technique and then develop the thinking and theory? after i got my technique down a bit i started transcribing other guitarists. good or bad? maybe it's better if it comes right from your own soul?

give me your opinion!

You're asking different things. Faster music means increase of tempo. All tempo variations are useful no matter what kind of music you play.
    To be versatile you gotta have a large vocabulary so you'd sound good and appropriate in any musical context.
    That is extremely hard to do. You gotta listen to a lot of different music to get the feel down and play with tons of different musicians.