How do you cook your turkey?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you cook your turkey?

I'm just curious what you guys out there do. I've been brining my bird for 12 hr's for about 5 years now. It tastes great, and the meat is moist & tender.

Oven bake in a browning bag.
    "POOP"

Comment

This year will be my first, so I'll let you know.

My mom always just put it in the oven and basted it halfway through. Usually came out tasting good.
      Scott

Comment

We've been brining for the past few years, since we started having it at our house. It always turns out great, especially if it's a fresh bird rather than frozen. We usually use the Alton Brown recipe from the Food Network site, iirc. Deep fried is awesome, too, but we haven't done that at our place.

Comment

High heat for 45 minutes then normal heat for the duration. I also cover the breast with foil to keep it from overcooking. I have brined in the past, but it didnt do what I wanted. Now I rub salt and pepper all over and then spray with oil. I have fried in the past but given all that I have going on I dont like messing with it.

Comment

I've done in the oven and cajun fried both with great results but prefer cajun fried. I like how fast you can fry a turkey but not the massive amouts of oil it takes and the mess it makes
            shawnlutz.com

Comment

Yessir, frying is messy. Besides, who can afford peanut oil?
              "POOP"

Comment

Oven baked, breast side down, on a rack to lift the bird off of the drippings. Perhaps it's not the best for presentation, but it makes perfect breast meat juiciness and tenderness.

Comment

Yup, I am a dark meat person, but, if you want super moist white meat, cook the bird upside down. Most people look at you like you are nuts when you tell them this.-Lou
                  " I do not pay women for sex. I pay for them to leave after the sex ". -Wise words of Charlie Sheen

Comment

I don't...My wife does it!!!