Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How long was it until you were a gear whore?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How long was it until you were a gear whore?

I'm just curious. I've been playing guitar for 11 months and I have 3 guitars, another one in the mail, loads of pickups, and I already went through an amplifier. Ah and pedals and POD as well... Now of course there are always the people who'd think 'meh do you even have a use for that' but I honestly do. I setup my own guitars, I need the tools, I want to learn how to take care of the instrument, how it works, how to build them... All about it. It's not just about the playing to me, but also about the sound and tech aspects of it. Sometimes I think 'damn I suck' (eh well after 11 months it's normal I guess ). This stuff doesn't make me play better, and I don't expect it to, but it's just so much fun. I sure can tell how a guitar plays, I know what to repair in one, I know what flaws to look out, I know how to describe a sound (lookout for my pickup reviews on here soon). And no I don't have a job, I sold my drumkit and used a lot of my lifesavings to buy all this. Way worth it if you ask me.
    Anyhoo enough rambling. How about you guys? Did you start with 4 Gibsons and 2 Fenders or did you get a Squier for your first 10 years?

Re: How long was it until you were a gear whore?