I need a new job HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need a new job HELP!

Warning, this will be a substantially long post.

I am a commercial sales consultant for an architectural finishing hardware supplier. In other words, I sell doorknobs. That's the joke anyway, but I'm not finding it very amusing lately. What I actually do, is take architectural drawings and specifications, and do a take-off (estimate) on supplying finishing hardware, hollow metal doors, and frames, wood doors, and washroom accessories. Finishing hardware includes such items as hinges, locksets, door closers, exit devices (commonly referred to incorrectly as panic bars), kickplates, weatherstripping, etc.

I basically quote on large jobs such as schools, hospitals, industrial buildings, and hotels. I quote the job, and if we are awarded the job, I coordinate the entire job from start to finish.

These projects are often quite complicated, and stressful, often involving many hours on the phone, some of them getting yelled at by general contractors who want their product tomorrow, product that takes 3-5 weeks to get.

I have a lot of freedom in my job, and pretty much come and go as I please. I have a brand new company vehicle and a gas card. Sounds great right?