Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do you ask the seller for the serial number when buying a used guitar? STOLEN GUITAR?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you ask the seller for the serial number when buying a used guitar? STOLEN GUITAR?

You guys know I have a passion (obsession?) for deal hunting and deal sharing, which comprises a large chunk of my JCF posting activity.

I recently came across some nice deals on other guitar brands, but I didn't talk about them on JCF since they were pretty far outside the "shredder guitar" realm.

The guitars I spotted locally were a mint condition Kiesel CT3 with G&G OHSC for the equivalent of USD$380, and a mint condition Fender American Series Stratocaster with SKB OHSC for the equivalent of USD$420. One image of each is linked below.

Since I'm not an expert in Kiesels and Fenders, I asked about each guitar in the appropriate Kiesel and Fender groups on Facebook.

With the Kiesel, the Facebook users recommended I obtain paperwork and proof of purchase to ensure the guitar was not stolen, especially when it was being offered for that low price. The seller also volunteered to make the 40min drive to bring the guitar to me. I've never had that offered to me before, and my intuition told me that perhaps the seller was too eager to dump the guitar. The combination of all these factors ultimately made me pass on the deal. If you're interested in reading the whole Facebook thread, click here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1531...0593082665285/