So I am offically making a Documentary film

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So I am offically making a Documentary film

There is an excerpt from the Robert Rodriquez's Ten Minute Film School that appears in the opening of his book "Rebel with out a crew"

"So you want to be a filmaker? First step to being a filmmake is stop saying you want to be a filmmaker. It took me forever to be able to tell anyone I was a filmmaker and keep a straight face until I was well on my way. But the truth was, I had been a filmmaker ever since the day I had closed my eyes and pictures myself making movies. The rest was inevitable. So you don't want to be a filmmaker, you are a filmmaker. Go make yourself a business card."

Tomorrow I go and begin filming the first two subjects of my Documentary Film, so although I won't say it tonight, tomorrow I will be able to say I am a Documentary Filmmaker, I'll skip the business cards.

I'm thrilled that this project (That originally was just going to be some somewhat random youtube videos is sort of evolving into something else. I have two people I will be filming tomorrow (and likely some additional days here and there) and I have contacted another person to see if he would like to tell his story to the camera. I've also been approached by a couple other people with relatives they believe would be interesting to talk to and record. So things are moving along. The most difficult part of this (the way it's moving right now, things may go completely dry after these folks and I may not find more to record for who knows how long) is going to be the editing. I'm using Movavi (because it's what I could afford). The Camera's (a DSLR and a HD Cam corder) are both 1080p and look fantastic. Using stock lenses on the DSLR but considering most documentaries I watch look like they were Super 8 I'm not too concerned with the limitations, the video will look good.