Cover Bands

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cover Bands

So played a show of covers at a bar that was a birthday party and sorta HS reunion I guess. It was a one off thing but the bar is throwing cash at us to come back. Anyway I never thought I would do this but I'm in. Like all in. A friend of mine is in a cover band here that literally has a cruise every year for their fans. A freaking cover band!!! What they make a night sickens me. They aren't the only ones either. My point is, we need to gather a following, etc... What did you guys do that set yourselves apart from other bar bands etc... I am a salesman and a performer and have rather good connections and business acumen so I think we can could turn some decent profit but not exactly sure what we want to do to gather a following. I e always been too proud in my youth to do something like this but now hell I just want to have and provide a good time and maybe build a lil rainy day fund.
    I keep the bible in a pool of blood
    So that none of its lies can affect me

The cover band business is kind of like the bar business. If you manage to pull the chicks in, the guys will follow, the bar will sell more and make more money, you will be asked back and it won't be too horrible to manage a raise after a while.

When I was last doing the cover thing I did research. Find out who are the top drawing and top money making cover bands in the area. Go see each of them several times and write down their set list as they play. Make quick notes of the crowd reaction for each song. After you do this for the few top bands you'll be able to put a list together of the songs that got the best crowd reactions. Take the best of each list and put together a setlist of your own. If you can put together an A list setlist, perform it to a T, and entertain the crowd you'll get people out.