Thought someone might enjoy this.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thought someone might enjoy this.

Damn college English class is making me do high school type assignments. We were to pick a personal experience that has great significance and write an autobiographical essay about it. I chose playing the Alrosa Villa. Enjoy.

How many people have played at a venue one of their favorite musicians have? My band did just that about two and a half years ago. It was a great thrill to play the same stage as one of my favorite musicians had played in the past. What is more is that this was the last venue that particular musician was to ever play.

The venue in question was the Alrosa Villa in Columbus Ohio. This was the last venue the late Darrel Abbott ever performed at. As a musician myself, it was a great honor to play on this stage even if the reasons behind the importance of this place were not the merriest. I have played my instrument, the guitar, for nearly thirteen years now. A lot of my inspiration to play and the thought process on writing was inspired by Mr. Abbott. I cannot stress enough how excited I was to make this trip to play this venue. It could be compared to a diehard Elvis Presley fan making a trip to Graceland, not only to see the place, but to play music there as well.