Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Vista to SUSE 11.4 to Windows 7 oh my...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vista to SUSE 11.4 to Windows 7 oh my...

I've been working in computers for almost 20 years, I have been doing this since 1982 on a TRS-80's through apples to IBM clones to today. Long before computers was a career path. So when I have a weekend like this I just about want to climb a toward and start shooting (lol)

So Friday I've had enough with Vista on my laptop. I pulled out a brand new un open copy of XP (which sadly is SP2 that'll mean something more in a minute) so I go to install it and Xp can't see the SATA drive. ****! So I go online to see what the hell I need to get this to work, I find all these message board posts which are 90% sarcastic stupid comment that give no help. So I finally found out you need to run the Raid driver when installed xp.. Fine, on a hunch I grab my Dell XP with SP3 thinking maybe I can switch them out in the install (hey it was worth a shot) so i ended up just installed XP from the dell disk and got into windows.

THEN every single driver that Toshiba's site directed me to failed. For my model it had showed it with Intel Wireless (it's not) all sorts of wrong stuff. This moved into Saturday morning and me finally just having enough I put in my SUSE 11.4 dvd and installed Linux on the mf'er. it worked like a friggen charm. It hauls ass on the toshiba as well where Vista just .... well it was vista... slow and crap.

Today i unboxed my new HP, and now running windows 7 on it and enjoy it. Couple big differences I have found on this version of 7 opposed to on my other win7 machine is that on a lot of apps I have to right click and install as administrator which i don't on the others. just one of those things i guess.