Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soloist USA Pickups - ACTUAL DiMarzio replacement experiences? - SL1, SL2,

Hi Guys.

Noob here - so excuse any idiotic behavior from me?

Specific topic: Who has changed to (which) DiMarzio pickups in USA SOLOISTS, and what was your verdict?

I've searched on the forum and read all results for "soloist pickups".
    But, a lot of the posts are old, and most are people asking/giving advice - not actual experiences.

So, I'm hoping I can get some help from you guys that HAVE SOLOISTs, that have actually changed their pickups!

Maybe I can narrow this question down by telling you what I'm playing through,
    And, I MUST use Dimarzio Pickups, making choices much easier.

I plug direct in to my Marshall JMP-1 preamp to an effects unit, BBE, then a Marshall 9200 (2 separate 100w amps in a rack mount chassis) - goes into 4 speakers left, and 4 spkr right, a mix of Greenbacks, Vintage 30, and G-12H Heritage Series
    So at this point, basically ANY guitar sounds pretty good!

MY issues with the SD stock Jackson pickups(s)
    ----------------------------------------
    "ho-hum" I feel the JB/59 combo is boring, not sounding shi*ty, but not sounding amazing!
    And my feeling is - I DO want something that does sound amazing!

Sterile: almost as sterile as an EMG 81? Not? Anyway it's a good word to describe it.

No musicality (imagine - a violin?) or when playing blues, slides, and legato. No Mojo from the stock stuff.
    Think Zep Tones on "Since I've been Lovin you" (yes I know that was a les Paul.).. But I would like to dial in that 'kind' of tone from my Soloist. Why not?

I don't have 'enough' Pick attack, dynamics, roll-off volume knob tone is poor, harmonics, feedback (not without a overdrive pedal)

Note separation especially in chords is not good.

Soloist SL1 - Not able to dial in a syrupy, yet hollow, toneful single coil neck PU sound (Fender sound?) the H-S-S Model