Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to electrics, DXMG?

Hey dudes

I'm a poor bastard and I've been playing metal on a crappy acoustic guitar for 2 years. I recently got a 30w amp from a friend of mine and now I've pretty much saved up enough to buy a decent electric axe! I'm really into the DXMG, but I can't play one anywhere near me! The only electrics I've played are an ibanez and a dean vendetta. AFAIK, ibanez is known for their low action guitars and that's just what I'm looking for. I also love doing weird shit with the floyd rose tremolos.

Jackson is far more appealing to me and I have my mind set on one, so I don't really plan on getting an ibanez or whatever. I have some general questions, like are these guitars suitable for a low action? How 'fast' is the neck in comparison with those slim Iba necks? And aren't those jumbo frets annoying as hell [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]? (Seriously, I've seen pictres.. and man, they're huge!)

Sorry for asking such a noob-ular question, I know it's annoying, just take comfort in the fact that I would ask someone I knew if any of them had the knowledge. Thanks

edit: oh yeah, I'm putting on .010s because I'm used to thick strings, I don't know if that makes any difference

Re: New to electrics, DXMG?

You should be able to lower the action as low as any Ibanez, theoretically the action can be as low as you like on any guitar as long the neck is straight and the frets are even. Most Jackson import necks were never as "fast" as Ibanez necks though, but they are still very slim compared to a Strat or a Les Paul...

Comment

I have a DXMG, and you will be thrilled with the low action. It's a quality, made in Japan Dinky with nice stuff like binding. Welcome, newb! [img]/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
      "Quiet, numbskulls, I'm broadcasting!" -Moe Howard, "Micro-Phonies" (1945)

Comment