Better EMGs for my DKMGT?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Better EMGs for my DKMGT?

I am thinking about putting some better pickups in my trans-green DKMGT. I am eyeballing EMG-81s or 85s, but in all honesty, I have no idea what I want! My musical tastes run the gammut from Kiss to Rush to Megadeth, but I want to be able to get a nice clean tone as well. I wanted to stick with EMGs, as I think the DKMGT is a classy looking guitar, and the EMGs contribute to that look.

So, I guess my questions are:

How would an 81/85 combo (Zakk Wylde setup, maybe?) work for my musical styles? Would I just end up using the existing master volume and master tone knobs? Would I need to cram an additional battery inside, or could the pickups run off the same one as the turbo charge? Would the turbo charge still work (does anyone really use the turbo charge?)

I am new to the world of guitar customization and to this forum, so thanks in advance for any advice.

- E.
    Good Lord! The rod up that man's butt must have a rod up its butt!

Re: Better EMGs for my DKMGT?

I have an EMG 81 in the Bridge of my Jackson USA AT Soloist Custom. It rips [img]graemlins/headbang.gif[/img] It sounds really awsome thru my VHT Pittbull CL-100. I have heard the 85 is a little less brutal. I have played thru many pickup/guitar combos, and this pickup is my favorite by far. I don`t know if they will run off of the mid-boost system in your Jackson, but I do know that EMG Active pickups use 25K pots. The ENG`s in your Jackson are HZ`s, and they are passive. Jack.

Comment

I have two Jackson Dinkies with EMGs. One is the 81b/85n combo and the other is the 85b/60n combo. I prefer the 85 in the bridge over the 81. The 85 has a little more mids and body to the tone and I think it's better than the 81. The 85/60 is my favorite combo.
      If you're going to get an 81/85 setup like Zakk Wylde, I'd switch the pups around and definitely keep the 85 in the bridge and 81 in the neck.