Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ngd: Jtx

I recieved by trade a 1993 Jackson JTX.

It's MIJ, has an ash body and a maple 1-piece neck that is a lot thinner than a normal Jackson neck, and a maple fretboard. It has a JT580 trem, Bartolini pups (H/S), a 3 way pup selector, volume knob and coil splitting switch.

Is it normal for a JT580 to be terrible at keeping tune, or a setup problem? I don't think the locking nuts are aligned properly, it doesn't have a string retainer, and the 3rd locking nut screw won't screw tight. If I fix all that, will it still not keep tune? (I'm new to trems).

Serial number on a sticker at the back: J 000534

Apart from the trem suckiness, it's an all-round great-playing guitar. The Bartolinis sound great and versatile, the neck is very shreddy and that maple neck has a nice snappiness to it (or is that the ash? I'm also new to that wood). And don't get me started on that trans purple finish

That dice sticker is sticky so you can stick your picks to it. I'm probably gonna replace it with a bat or a babe or something once I figure out where to buy them from.
    Gear:
    Ibanez RG421 - Jackson JTX - Peavey Vypyr 15

Gear I want:
    Korina Flying V in Alpine White - Les Paul flame-top in heritage cherry sunburst - Silverburst SG - Mockingbird STQ in trans purple

Doesn't look like the lock nuts are the right size from the pick. They seem to be too narrow to me. Does it hold tune when not using the bar? Also check to make sure the knife edges on the trem aren't worn out
    It's pronounced soops

Comment

Originally posted by 84sups View Post
      Doesn't look like the lock nuts are the right size from the pick. They seem to be too narrow to me. Does it hold tune when not using the bar? Also check to make sure the knife edges on the trem aren't worn out