Is this a mutt?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this a mutt?

Hi guys! I’m a Jackson newb & could use a little help on identifying this one. I’ve done a lot of searching in the last week since I snagged it on Ebay & can’t narrow it down. Serial number is 6 numbers & starts with a 6 so I’m guessing 1996. Nothing on the truss rod cover. Has the fleckstone rough finish paint & looks like EMG 81 pickup. JT-590 LP tremelo. This thing plays amazingly. I love it already. I just can’t find it in any catalogs. Any ideas?

Last edited by mkayers; 03-09-2012, 11:44 AM.

If it's a mutt, you do know that the serial number could have come off of anything?

I'm not sure.

There isn't a JT-590 LP trem. If it's a low profile, it's most likely a JT580LP from that era.

Comment

Looks like a refinished DR with the neck route filled.
      -Rick

Comment

My bad on the JT-590. Must have fat fingered it. I guess the serial could be from anything but guessed it would have been from either the neck or the body. Who knows though. If the front pickup cavity is filled there should be a plugged hole or something for a pickup selector if I pull the back cover right? One other thing is this guitar is really light. Are all Jackson's pretty light? My last guitar was a Kramer Richie Sambora & this one weighs about half of that it seems like.

Comment

Most jacksons are fairly light in my opinion. I would say def a mutt of sorts. The trem looks to be non recessed.

Comment

The trem is recessed.
            Zoom in on the pic and you can see it.
            Looks like a JT580LP.
            -Rick

Comment

Oh yeah I see it now. Do we know what the headstock says?(performer,professional,concept) im on my phone so zooming in doesnt help in seeing that part. Does the lower horn have the extra cut? Any word on the neck pocket stamp?

Edit-looks to say professional so maybe a dr3 neck? Idk the color of the rosewood makes me think x series though hmmmm:think: