Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jackson Kelly KX10D

Hi guys,

Apologies if this thread already exists, I tried using the search function but couldn't find what I was after.

I recently started playing guitar again after a 4 year break [yeah massive, i know!] and picked up a new old stock circa 2000 Indian made Jackson Kelly KX10D, serial #01010142. I absolutely love the shape and feel of this guitar... hate the crappy trem though, and i'm definitely looking to upgrade the electronics/pickups in it, too.

I was just wondering about a few things: Are the bodies on this model Alder wood? I've decided on a Seymour Duncan custom in the bridge and a Jazz in the neck based on the assumption that these models are indeed Alder. And would a standard original Floyd Rose drop into this guitar no worries?

I'm sure many would be with the notion that it might be better to just sell it and buy a MIJ or MIA, but I'm a left hander in Australia and don't come along these too often.

Thanks for all the help guys!

- Anthony

if its an x series their usually made out of basswood and as far as the floyd im not to sure have a look on floyd rose website you can get dimensions off there

Comment

This is a 2001.

According to the specs in the 2001 catalog, this model had Alder body, JT-500 Trem.

Catalogs have been known to be wrong however, so a sharp photograph of inside the cavity would help for sure, Audie. As for the trem, now you can search on JT-500.

Welcome & good luck.
      "Quiet, numbskulls, I'm broadcasting!" -Moe Howard, "Micro-Phonies" (1945)

Comment

If it is indeed a JT-500, a Floyd Rose will not fit, but a Schaller will.
        Good choice on the pup selection.
        But by the time you add up all the replacement part costs, you may just be better off keeping this as is and buying a KE3.
        Good luck on finding lefties... hard to come by.

Oh and welcome to the show!
        -Rick

Comment