Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Model 6 Massacre --> Project. (pic heavy)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Model 6 Massacre --> Project. (pic heavy)

Welp, I bought this Mod 6 from the USA the other week. It arrived today.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...759%26_fvi%3D1

Total cost including postage and customs = £190.

It's in pretty bad condition. It seems to be a fairly early model, but I am not an expert. It has no serial at the neck butt. Also the neck is noticeably thicker at fret one than my later Model 6, and more consistent thickness throughout.

I think I might ask if Heinrik/audiozone is interested in the restoration? I know he was looking for a few more project walkthrus. It won't be as good as Budman's though!

Shame, because the paint is a nice sparkle blue, but it is just hosed in some places. Luckily I can get a very very close match from a spray can. It is almost the same as I used for a Fender HM refin.

Here are pics:

Not sure what the Kahler is.

Headstock is kind of trashed:

Neck itself is great shape, no dings at all.

Body damage:

That stuff is kind of icky sticky stuff....I think I got some of the fluff up my nose cause I have been sneezing ever since.

Control cav. plate is cracked. From the seller pcis I had assumed the rear cavity for springs was filled and painted, but the visible lines on the auction are just sticky residue from a massive sticker. There's no cavity there. Kahler does not need one, I suppose. (Kahler noob)

Maybe someone has been using it for BB gun target practice

Electronics cav. :

Nice recent battery. Guessing this was last changed about '96.

Connections insulated with gaffer tape...

Mystery electronics: can anyone help?

EMG held in place with newspaper: