Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Charvel 275 Deluxe-Pickup and bridge question

Hi All,
    I'm brand new to Charvel guitars (owned lots of other brands), and my first buy is a 1990 (I think) 275 deluxe off Ebay for 160GBP (just over 300USD), including quality case.
    I've got a few questions that I hope you can help me out with..

1. Is it possible to change the saddles on the Schaller trem to locking ones? At the moment the guitar's only single locking, which is ok but i'm thinking of looking into getting it double locked. If it is possible, can anyone suggest somwwhereto buy the saddles? Preferably in the Uk.

2. I'm really not happy with the sound from this guitar. It has a single coil charvell at the neck (which is fine) but has two more at the bridge which are angled. At first I though it had been modded, then put back to original but done wrong as there's some terrible soldering in there, but after looking at this forum, i see a few people aren't happy with theirs either.
    I really can't get a decent distorted sound out of them, and this guitar doesn't really look the part for Jazz eh? so I want to put a normal humbucker in. The problem is that the body routing follows around the outline of the two single coils. Looks like I'm gonna have to chissel the middle bit away to take the humbucker. Anyone out there done this already? Any tips? Also, I'll have to change the switch to a three way won't I?

Here's some pics:

Bridge:

Body shot:

Full shot:

Other than these little moans, I'm really happy with my charvel, and can see myself buying another in the future, there's so many different looks to choose from!

Anyway,

Cheers.
    Last edited by wolfynic; 05-28-2008, 02:26 PM.

i had one of these non-locking trems in my 275dlx.