EMGs in a cheap Ibanez

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EMGs in a cheap Ibanez

Okay. Bear with me here- this is rather new territory for me.
    I have an Ibanez GAX30 with stock neck and bridge humbuckers. Actually, I'm rather fond of my little guitar here, it has a really great sound and resonates beautifully...but I was thinking of throwing some EMGs in there. I like the idea of spiffing up cheap guitars.
    Any thoughts on this?

Re: EMGs in a cheap Ibanez

Good Idea! Get a 85 at the bridge, it sounds heavy and gives a good umph compared to the 81 which is a little brighter then the 85.

Comment

Do it! You can't go wrong with EMGs. I'm also partial to the 85 in the bridge with either an 81 or 60 in the neck. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
      I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

Yes, definitely the 85 as the bridge pup- that's what I was thinking. I'm a rhythm guitarist, and I think this would suit the sound I'm ulitmately after.
        I have a three way switch and either play just the bridge or will switch to the middle position if I'm playing clean.
        I wasn't sure which one to go for for the neck pickup- but I was thinking an 81?
        Thanks you guys for your input. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Em

Comment

If you've never had EMGs, be prepared for a disappointment - I put an 81 in the bridge of an Ibanez EX350 a few years ago and thought it sounded like crap - very thin and nasally with no balls (or rather, even thinner, more nasally, and less ballsy than the stock IBZ pickup). That's when I realized you need a ton of external EQ with EMGS to shape a sound.

Newc
          I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.

My Blog: http://newcenstein.com

Comment