09 Fender USA strat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 09 Fender USA strat

Bought this one of a guy in 2010 and shoved it in a closet and forgot about it.Never even played it.
    Was cleaning out the closet today and found it under a bunch of empty cases.
    I took it apart today for a clean up and string change.
    I'm no Fender expert just a sucker for the large headstocks.Anyway the sticker on the neck heel dates it an 09 OK no sweat but I see it says HWY1?
    Never saw a HWY 1 with a big headstock double ? This one has a glossy 2 tone burst most HWY 1's were not glossy IIRC.
    Body is routed hum sing sing OK.Tons of bar code stickers and I have no idea how to decode them.
    Any of you guys know (the Fender forum isn't much help)
    Body is dated 2010 so could be the neck was made first who knows how Fender marks the bodies and necks.
    Any clues pop out at you?
    Attached Files
    Really? well screw Mark Twain.

Nice closet treasure. Thats a sweet old school lookin strat.
    GTWGITS! - RacerX

Comment

I have no clue.. very sweet guitar indeed. You might want to post this on the fender forum... there are some dedicated Highway 1 fans there that should be able to tell you what you need to know.
      The 2nd Amendment: America's Original Homeland Defense.

Comment

Thanks I may go there, just need to remember my password its been years since I've posted there.
        Its a nice matched 2 piece body too.

Comment

Found out what this is, its a Highway 1 upgrade model.
          Alnico 3 pick ups with the grease bucket tone circuit.Kinda cool with the bridge pick up on you can roll the tone down and it doesn't get muddy just gets real fat sounding but still clear even when running a lot of gain on the amp.
          Jumbo frets and huge steel sustain block on the trem.
          Kinda diggin' it damn good sounding strat.
          The 03 bar code means 2 tone sunburst to so its original.