Value of a Gibson Flying V?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Value of a Gibson Flying V?

Any Gibson experts here that might now what a Flying V like this is worth? The seller claims it is a 1981 model. Please see attachment for pictures.
    Attached Files

im not an expert..
    definetly a nice color on a v
    id say low side 1,200 high side 1,500
    because the color is not common on that year
    but again im not an expert

Comment

A few years ago I watched early 80's V's and Explorers go on ebay for $600-$800. They certainly aren't worth more than that.
      -------------------------
      Blank yo!

Comment

you may be right
        this one just looks special
        i dont know why

Comment

Thanks for the input. Don't really have any knowledge vintage older Gibson guitars, except that some of them reach way to high prices.

The seller wants NOK 15000, which is about USD 2500 so I guess that's way to much even in Norway. But I do like the looks of the V with the smaller and matching headstock, but I guess I'll have better luck on ebay..

Comment

Hey, I had one of those in that color, it was a reissue if I remember correctly, but I don't remember what year it was reissue of but it was reissued in 1981. I bought it in 82 or 83. I loved that guitar! I wish I had kept it, but I ended up having to sell it. It had a great neck, small but very comfortable. I do remember reading a few months ago that those particular V's were worth a lot. You can check out the Flying V website for more information, it's http://www.flying-v.ch . Hope that helps.

Mark

Comment