New to Jackson - problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Jackson - problems

Guys, I’d appreciate if you’d take a look at this Jackson which I just bought on eBay http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=016&item=260008890636&rd =1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1. Maybe the seller is a member here?…anyway…

Guitar arrived this morning, but there are couple of probs . Main thing is fretboard is cracking away from the neck next to the nut … is that common on Jackson’s? …here’s a photo (no mention of this in eBay adv. ).

In eBay adv. he says “only other slight imperfection is on tip of headstock”, and he shows a photo which looks like a crack or a “line”. Actually the tip of headstock had been broken clean off & glued back -

Should I return it? It plays OK, not great…but OK … fair bit of wear on upper frets ... cosmetically the body is fine etc., but I’m just concerned about the structural problems.

Should explain I’ve been playing for 30 years, so I’m well used to all sorts of faults on guitars, though all my other guitars are traditional types (Les Paul, Strat, Tele’s etc.), and I just bought this because I wanted something with a locking trem. for EVH type dive-bombs ... OK, I’ve never used a Floyd before & have to admit after a few min. fiddling I can’t get all the strings properly in tune, nor can I get the whammy to have anything but horrible sloppy/wobbly action…but maybe all that’s just because I need to know what I’m doing with setting-up a Floyd?

Any help/comments much appreciated.

Ian.

The fretboard is an easy fix, just fill it with glue and clamp it for a day or two.
    And no, fretboard lifting is not a common thing for Jacksons.
    The tip repair is not a big deal as it doesn't go through any tuning peg holes, it just looks like crap. But it is clearly visible in the auction pic.
    The real issue is the fretboard issue was disclosed to you in the auction.