Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

To part out or to restore? That is the question.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To part out or to restore? That is the question.

This topic came up on the Sandasales Post. His question was; "Why part out a San Dimas (or any classic guitar) instead of restoring it. "Talk amoungst yourselves"
    I am a true ass set to this board.

Re: To part out or to restore? That is the question.

I have had a few vintage Fender guitars that were rough beyond repair, so I parted them out. However, those guitars were never logged and built individually. Charvels are a little different in that each serial number corresponds to a particular guitar.

Comment

I am new to the San Dimas guitars. Are you saying that each guitar was custom made by special order? My point is, that any classic guitar was made with parts that players covet now. There comes a time in any guitar's life when the parts are worth more than the whole. My question is when does that point happen?

Comment

Roughly 21 years, 8 months, 4 days, 12 hours, 6 minutes, and 17 seconds after it left the factory [img]graemlins/poke.gif[/img]

Or when someone says "hey, I had/wanted a certain guitar when I was a kid, and now that I'm an adult I'd pay $500 just to have a neck, then maybe $1200 for a body with a nice graphic, and I'd have to have the hardware from that time which is not made today" and they do.

Newc
        I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.

My Blog: http://newcenstein.com

Comment

You have to remember one very important rule when you restore anything, be it cars, guitars or what have you - You will never (or very rarely) get back what you put into it.