Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Charvel for the right reasons?

Hi!

I've been hanging around here for a few days now, very cool site! Lots of good info, thanks a lot!

I have been playing a my japanese Les Paul-type copy for almost three years now and would like to have something different for a change. My first idea was to get a Parker Nitefly, but then I stumbled upon the new Charvels and was immediately drawn back to my childhood memories of Steve Vai and Van Halen. I play all kinds of music, rock, soul, jazz, folk and blues. Been heavily into Mogwai and Mastodon lately, but also Joni Mitchell, Pat Metheny and Derek Trucks.

These two guitars are completely different from one another, and they both attract me for totally different reasons. The jazzier side of me wants the Parker and the rocker in me screams for the Charvel. The hard part is that neither one is available in shops here in Helsinki, so I need to make up my mind based on the information I manage to gather from the net. I made a deal with the finnish distributor (the shop is 600 km north from Helsinki), that when they get a San Dimas Style 1 HSS Trans Gold Kandy, I'm the first in the line to get one. The Parker I would probably order from Thomann.

What I doubt about the Charvel is is it versatile enough, the lack of tone knob and the quite hot pickups (I'm used to vintage output stuff), and the neck shape; I know it's thinner and flatter than a 50's style LP neck and I'm ok with that, I just hope it's nowhere near Ibanez wizard or Jackson dinky profile. I know that the Parker neck shape is also quite slim, but there's no question about the versatility with Parker even thought it also has quite hot pickups.