Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Time for some new Tubes... Need some help though!!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Time for some new Tubes... Need some help though!!!!

Hey Guys,

Well, I finally got the Dog Whistle of Death today from my poweramp, so it is time for a total tube overhaul.

This will be my first time dealing with tubes so please bear with me, for I am a Tube Noob

My rig consists of a Digitech 2101 with 2 Classic Audio 12AX7's(Never heard of them) running into my Carvin T100 poweramp with 4 Groove Tube E34L's and 2 brandless 12AX7's.

The 4 Groove tubes have number ratings on them as follows according to their position:
    V1:7 V2:7 V3:5.6 V4:5.6

Questions:

1. What do the numbers mean and which would be more desireable?

2. Should I get all 4 tubes exactly matched or get them like the previous owner had them which looks like two sets of matched pairs?

3. If I get a matched quad set of tubes say at number 6 or whatever, then would I need to have the poweramp biased?????

4. I have been looking at the Tung Sol 12AX7 and the JJ 12AX7's and E34l's as possible replacements. I play mostly metal, so I would like a nice heavy bottom end and smooth tone that won't break up and and get brittle at higher volumes when doing Rhythm and Lead duties. I got a fairly good tone when using the Groove Tubes, but an improvement, if any, would be desireable. Would the JJ's be any better or the same as the GT's????
    Would there be any difference if I got the JJ 12AX7's over the Tung Sol's???

5. In the Digitech 2101, would it be beneficial to get 2 different types of tubes so lets say, I can use them to get a good heavy distorted sound and also nice warm clean tones??? Is that even a rational thought or idea ????

6. JJ Tubes makes a "higher gain" 12 AX7 tube, will that help or just make it sound like ass?????

That's all I can think of for now. All your answers and opinions are really really appreciated! Thanks guys!!

Jeremy