Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Peavey Rockmaster en route - looking for setup suggestions.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peavey Rockmaster en route - looking for setup suggestions.

I just got an email letting me know that a Peavey Rockmaster preamp is on its way to me, which I am hoping to use as the basis of my live rig. If you've read my recent rack-related questions, you'll probably already have seen this list, but here is my current live rig:

ART Xtreme pedal > ART Tube EQ > Rocktron Hush II > Boss DD-3 > Peavey VTM-60 head - or - Peavey Classic 60 power amp > Jackson 4x12 cab

Once the Rockmaster arrives, I plan to ditch the pedalboard and use the Rockmaster's footswitch for all of my channel and effects controls. Assuming the preamp's effects loop is decent (and I sure hope it is), I'm planning on running the EQ, Hush and DD-3 in the loop for lead boosts. However, I've never used a Rockmaster before, so this is new territory for me. Are these preamps truly capable of getting a 5150/XXX tone? Am I going to benefit from adding a BBE? Are the distortion channels really similar, so that I could keep the same tone for lead and rhythm?

My goal is to have clean, rhythm and lead tones, all controlled from one footswitch rather than lots of MIDI controllers and/or pedals for everything. I have ADA and ART MIDI preamps, and they sound great, but they are absolute overkill for my live needs.
    sigpic

I had one about 10 years ago... not as high gain or 'crispy' sounding as a 5150 to my ears, but again, it was awhile back. If the loop on the rockmaster doesn't do much for you, remember that you can run effects between a preamp and poweramp also. I'd try it both ways and see which one is preferable.

Pete

Comment