Rocktron Prophesy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rocktron Prophesy

Has anyone played one before? I was thinking about getting one, but I'm not completly sure. I'd have to get it online... we don't have them out east here. So I figured I'd ask some JCF'ers how it stacks up to other preamps.

Thanks!

Re: Rocktron Prophesy

I have been using one for 4 years by now. Loving it. I'm not sure how to compare it against other preamps though.... I can just describe it shorlty:
    - has 4 voicings, british and mega being shredders dreams
    - has enough (and I mean it - more than you need) gain
    - very clear, acritulate, fast
    - tweaking is not neceserily exactly simple, but with any kind of effort - it is really rich
    - and.... I'm keeping it, possibly forever [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] (I also have VHT 50CL, TSL, Mark IV). It is different from either one of these, but it is in the same league.

I had a chance to compare it to the Boss GT-8 recently, and I have to say that to my ears the Prophecy is a better souding preamp: warmer, has its own voice (it is not a modeling preamp) and just exciting to play through. Or, I dont mention line6, it is a different beast, more comparable with the GT-8 but I will not go there.

So to sum it up - it is not going anywhere from my playroom anytime soon.

Comment

Ah, addition: the FX portion of this unit is unquestionable, great quality reverbs, delays etc.

Comment

another addition: I don't use it through the guitar amps, just would not suggest to go this route. It is setup to go via active studio monitors via mixing console - I think this is the ideal application of this box. Very good and complete sound.

Comment

So you're saying not to run it though a poweramp - cab? I was thinking about using it as a preamp in a rackmount system.

Just wondering, does it actually sound like the demo on the rocktron site? (The backing sounds could easily mask defects)

Thanks alot

Comment