Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to make distortion?

Guys,

There is a question in my head that tortures me. What is distortion exactly? I know if you "overdrive" a circuit, the you end up with a distorted signal. But, what has happened to that signal? Can you, say, write a computer program to distort a signal? How do you do it?

I am an engineer and for some reason I think about these things at night.. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

[ March 30, 2003, 06:00 PM: Message edited by: rodrigo_echeverri ]

Re: How to make distortion?

Basically, distortion is caused when the tips of a sine wave are cut off. Not much more I can add to that though. You'll have to wait for Oklastrat to get here to answer your question more thoroughly. [img]graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]

Comment

Get a razor and cut your amp's speakers up. That'll help add distortion! [img]graemlins/images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

[ March 30, 2003, 09:03 PM: Message edited by: toejam ]
      I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

What B.M. said.

This may be a decent example. Say a preamp can put out a -2V to +2V sine wave. You plug in your guitar and while playing you measure -1V to +1V out of the preamp(won't really be a sine wave but stay with me a minute). It's fairly clean. You increase the gain until you get the 2 volts, still fairly clean, but louder.

Adding more gain should make the sine wave bigger. What happens on this preamp is the output will get bigger, but the top and bottom of the sinewave gets "clipped" to stay within + and - 2V. The more gain, the more of the wave gets clipped.

Hope this helps

DRH

Comment

Webster`s Dictionary defines Extreme Distortion as: 1993 VHT Pittbull CLX-100 [img]graemlins/drool2.gif[/img] , it also ads carefull turning main volume past 5 [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] Jack [img]graemlins/headbang.gif[/img]

[ March 30, 2003, 09:26 PM: Message edited by: slayer ]

Comment