Amp Recommendations?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp Recommendations?

Hey guys I was wondering if you guys can giver me some amp recommendations. I've been playing guitar for 2 years now and done what I can to try and play along with the music I love. I have a small peavy blazer that was given to me but I hardly used as it really didn't work. I'm a huge fan of extreme metal thrash,speed, death stuff like that. You guys got any recommendations for amps that can handle that specifically in the $400- 800 range? Thanks.
    Jacksons haven't failed me so far

What did you need it for, just noodling around or are you looking for something you can jam with?

Well... this is probably just out of your price range unless you're willing to buy used, but out of all my years playing the best extreme metal tone I've ever had has been out of my Orange Dark Terror with a MXR 10 band EQ in the FX loop, plugged direct. But it's only 15w, and while it can get really loud, it's not really suitable for more than a rehearsal or practice amp. It really nails, technical / brutal death, doom, sludge, epic metal... but it's a bit pricey for what it is.

If you're still new and just need a good all-round practice amp, the $100 Line 6 Spyder 15 is probably the best sounding inexpensive amp you can get. Sounds like ass mic'd but if you're just jamming at home you don't really need much more. A lot of people seem to like the Roland Cubes but I could never get the sound I wanted out of them. Most of the other micro entry level amps pretty much suck...

Read through the amp threads and I'm sure some of the other ampaholics will chime in with multiple suggestions. lol
    The 2nd Amendment: America's Original Homeland Defense.

Comment

Evh 5150 iii

Comment