Running two amps at once

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running two amps at once

How many here run through 2 amps at once? I'm thinking it may be fun to go through both of my Laneys, or one Laney and the Fender at the same time.

Do people do this for a bigger sound? Do most use one amp for clean and one for distortion? I'm new to this whole thing

For shows where either I or the other guitarist cant make it, we rig up a two amp combination. We set one up on each side of the stage. We run the preamp out of the primary amp into the effects return of the other. Its more for balance and not tone, but if you have two identical amps, this way could be used for ballance and maybe a little tone difference if using different cabs. Alternatively and probably more like you were thinking, you could use an ABY switch and run into the front end of two amps. We use the slave method because we can just run the cable behind the stage and wed never be switching between the two.
    HTTP 404 - Signature Not Found

Comment

So Twitch, you're just running the preamp of one into the power amp of the other? That's not really using two amps then, not in the sense that thebigz is asking about. You could do the same thing running the one amp into cabs on either side of the stage.
      Hail yesterday

Comment