Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp Suggestions please!

Hi everyone!

I have a budget of £600 ($1,000) to get a new amp. I play at home only so something small (1x12) is the perfect size. I play an ESP M-II (with Duncan JB/'59 p-ups) and an Ibanez RG-2610E (Duncan Full Shred p-up). I use no effects but use plenty of gain for a full-on rock/metal sound (playing in a similar style to Vai, Metallica etc). Features are not that important so long as I get a good sound that can gives clarity even when gain is high. I am happy to consider second-hand amps.

I have been using a Peavey Envoy since 1990 so my amp knowledge is limited and any advice is gratefully received!

Buy and old teal stripe Peavey Bandit 112 (sheffield or scorpion - your choice) for about $250 and save the rest for beer or other viable pursuit.

Perfect for bedroom use.

Just my 2c.

Comment

Consider a Peavey Valve King 112.

Comment

i've been checking out the jet city jca20h with the 20lb hammer mod. sounds pretty bad ass to me.
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsJ-ffCKTLY

Comment

6505+ combo \m/
          I'm going to give you the keys to the Lamborghini

Comment

Don't forget old Marshalls. They made combos too. Not high gain in and of themselves but can be with a boost. My personal favorite.

Comment

Thanks guys. Both Peavey suggestions look great and I will research the Marshall options. A dealer near me has some ex-demo Jet City JCA12S 1x12" cabs (with one year warranty) going cheap. So I could get the JCA20h and one of these cabs for £400 ($600). Only question would be if this cab works well with the head and if a small head/cab would be too loud for home use only...

Comment

Originally posted by TKEblue View Post
                6505+ combo \m/
                ..this
                "Bill, Smoke a Bowl and Crank Van Halen I, Life is better when I do that"
                Donnie Swanstrom 01/25/06..miss ya!