Testing recording my acoustic guitar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Testing recording my acoustic guitar

First off, I'm not a pro player, I'm a hack that plays for personal enjoyment. I'm also in my own estimation, a terrible acoustic player. Any psychological damage or rage caused by listening to these is beyond my control.

The first one is using the 11 rack with the guitar directly in to the guitar input. Fender blackface model with no cab for toneshaping, a dash of reverb and chorus. It's just me farting around on a chord progression, nothing too exciting going on here. Lesson learned : Use a low cut on the para EQ to tame the super boomy bottom. I didn't here. I will next time.

P.S. I applied some compression in my DAW and this track came out HOT, so beware of levels.

http://soundcloud.com/magentaslaad/a...direct/s-nDGdi

The second one is a little longer and a little more rambling through different stuff. It's basically a noodling session just to see if I could actually pull off a miced recording of my guitar.

http://soundcloud.com/magentaslaad/a...d-test/s-pt8dg

Taylor 414ce miced by Rode M3 into 11 Rack interface. Interface was running para-eq and a bit of reverb. Mic was laying on my computer desk pointed in the guitar's general direction due to my laziness in purchasing a mic stand.

If anyone has any helpful hints or good online articles regarding mic placement I would be happy to hear them.
    GTWGITS! - RacerX