How Do You Take A Vacation?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How Do You Take A Vacation?

Anybody take a vacation? I'm 51 and I took a one week vacation in 1982. It was a ski trip. (used to snow ski a lot in college) This vacation was taken after 2 years out of college and at the time I was married, so I thought I needed to take a vacation. Yeah, I've taken long weekends, but that's it. That's the last time I took anytime off from work. Sounds crazy, eh? Well, I have no immeadiate family, or that significant other (anymore), so I've always worked. With economic changes affecting jobs, layoffs, plant closings etc. I just kept working. Now, I'm considering changing jobs again and the company offering me a new position wants me to give my present employer 2 weeks notice (customary) and start the following Monday. But, I just feel weird and burnt out. I need a break. At my current job as an engineer, I've literally been doing nothing but sit at my desk all day waiting for the axe. No work for me. Everybody is busy all around me. So it seems. So, I take it day by day wondering if that bi-weekly check will be my last. So, time to leave.

Where do you guys go on vacation? I have no idea? The only time was that ski trip as I described above and the family thing over the Thanksgiving and Christmas Holidays.
    I was thinking of Nashville this weekend, make the rounds and drive up to Kentucky to the Corvette Museum in Bowling Green. Duh, I don't know? White water rafting in Jackson Hole Wyoming? Huh? (might be getting cold now )
    I need a book on how to take a vacation. I trust you guy's. You are my best therapy, crazy and all
    Tone is like Art: Your opinion is valid. Listen, learn, have fun, draw your own conclusions.

Well you could go to Hawaii...no wait, it's being resurfaced the old-fashioned way.

How about Australia? I don't think it's on fire any more like it was a couple years ago?