Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toothpaste 475 rebuild and Sliding vs Rotary Potentiometer Questions

I have a '93 Charvel 475 Deluxe.
    I love the feel and balance of this guitar. This guitar was my dream ax right after HS, but it's been hanging on the wall for a decade. It's only ever played like an electric acoustic that looks cool. I'm an acoustic player, that didn't bother me. Now I'm getting back to my roots and would like to ROCK!
    The previous owner messed it all up.
    The je-1200 is gone, everything else is original. The humbuckers don't work. I'm pretty sure it's the wiring's fault, but I'll check the HB.

I'm an IT architect who fancies himself an amateur guitar player. Technically, I can do this wiring. I understand the electronic components, wiring, diagrams, soldering, etc.
    The problem I will have is not going all IT Architect, over-analytic, maniac and trying to do what is possible, as apposed to just doing what needs to get done well.

Call this post a Sanity Check.

I would love to play with as many combinations of my pickups as I can. Since I'm doing the wiring, I can make the switches do whatever I want...that's cool.
    There's no pick-guard that I can replace if I screw up whole placement/size or want to change the # of holes, and I'm not drilling holes in the mint '93 classic....I can't believe it and I are solidly "Classic"s!

So, here's what I have to work with:

Body:
    Three holes (I haven't measured them yet, but I am willing to ream them if needed....suggestions/cautions?)
    One slot w/ two screw holes (where the 5-way switch is).

Electronic:
    1 x 250k volume pot - replacing the je-1200 (a new je-1200 will be here Wed. Is the attached pot for volume 250k?)
    1 x 500k pot
    1 x 500k push/pull pot
    1 x 5-eay lever switch
    1 x mono jack (I think it is supposed to be stereo to act as the je-1200 on/off switch?)
    2 x Jackson j-200
    1 x Jackson j-50bc
    0 x caps
    0 x resisters