PC1 sustainer help needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PC1 sustainer help needed

I posted this in response on another thread, but hope this might get more attention...

I just bought a 1997 PC1 at a good (if I can fix this) price and have one big problem. The guitar works great in regular mode, but it squeals like crazy in harmonic mode on any pickup unless I turn the intensity knob or the adjustment pits way down. Then there is NO harmonic response and greatly reduced normal sustaining. If I leave it turned back up the regular sustainer works ok.
    i called Jackson/Fender, but they aren’t a ton of help. Is this broken? I have been soldering for 30 years, so if it is a specific component I could replace it.
    Last edited by Exodus5; 02-27-2019, 02:43 PM.

Check out these Google-powered search results regarding PC1 Sustainer squeal. Hopefully at least one of them addresses what you're asking: https://www.google.com/search?newwin...j0.KTCK9ljdMTU

Comment

Sounds like it needs to be cleaned and/or readjusted.
      First thing to try is just disconnect and reconnect ALL the connectors and make sure they're solid and not dirt. Seriously... sometimes that's all it takes.
      If that doesn't resolve it, you'll have to adjust the gain.

Remove the back cover and locate the two trim pots on the board.
      There are two small holes in the board that allow you to adjust without pulling the board.
      Get a small PLASTIC #00 phillips screwdriver to adjust the pots.

Locate the trim pot located closer to the edge of the board (gain pot).
      Turn on the sustainer and max out the intensity knob.
      Turn the trim pot clockwise until the squeal goes away.
      You shouldn't have to adjust the other trim pot as that controls the intensity level.
      -Rick

Comment