ESP M-1, help appreciated

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ESP M-1, help appreciated

An ESP M-1... do you know this model? Any info much appreciated, like when it was made, where it was made, anything you know about it, thanks!

Henrik
    AUDIOZONE.DK - a guitar site for the Jackson and Charvel fan

Wow, that's an old one!
    I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

More more, Joe!
      Henrik

Comment

I don't really know much more, but those Strat bodies and Explorer banana headstocks were on older M-1s compared to the Dinky-type body and pointy headstocks of today. Some also had the pseudo Strat headstock like the George Lynch M-1.

Comment

I wonder if the gold logo "say" anything about the guitar. Could it be from around 1985-1988? Same quality as the Mirage? Hmmm... i'm an ESP noob.
          Henrik

Comment

wow, nice axe.

that said, i've never seen an M-1 with a banana headstock, but there were ESPs that did have that, i've seen a New York-Neck-Plated (JAF Box #, then NY10116) "The Hybrid" that was a one-hum, with a volume/tone, with a headstock like that.

i agree with toe^, i think its an way older model. I don't really know ESP's dates too well, so, i apologize.

by the way, did M-Is come in One and Two humbucker models?

i never understood why i've seen some with two hums...wouldn't that just be an M-II?
            Last edited by Seventh Avenged; 05-10-2006, 07:01 PM.

Comment

I guess it's a bolt on, so the neck could have been from another model. Or this body could perhaps NOT be an ESP. Maybe a back shot could help decide that.
              Henrik

Comment

yeah, can you take pics of the Backside?

we can usually tell if its an ESP from the control cavity.

body looks to be ok though, and the headstock matches it, but of course that may not mean a whole lot...

What kind of Floyd is on that? an ESP, Schaller, or OFR?

Comment

Originally posted by Seventh Avenged