Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fngd

What's better than NGD? Free NGD!

A close family friend had a Strat for a long time. I vaguely remember jamming with him once while I started playing too.

He hasn't played in forever and has pretty much forgotten how to.

I saw him recently and he wanted me to have it, to fix it up and add it to my collection. I agreed with this idea.

All I remembered about it was it was an interesting model from the early 80's with new features like buttons for the pickups, active circuitry and a new tremolo.

This makes it an Elite Strat, and I picked it up today in its original case and was pleasantly surprised to find it was sunburst.

New strings and a clean up of the frets will go a long way to getting back to playing condition. I'm glad these had a flatter radius than regular Strats, so that's a bonus for me.
    Last edited by Genebaby; 06-28-2017, 08:53 PM. Reason: Bloody Photobucket!!

Free is good.

Comment

These Stratocaster Elites not only had 12" radius fretboards, but also jumbo frets from what I have gathered. You don't often see these models. Nice!

Comment

Free is good, but the fact that it came from a personal friend and you can keep that connection alive is even better. I'm sure he really appreciates it as well. Nice!

Comment

NOTP, yes, it does have jumbo frets, so it's much more to my liking than regular Fender products.

I'll give it a good going over and then make a video of me playing it for my friend, so he can see what happened to it.

I've got it at work today and just replaced the battery, which was old, but luckily didn't corrode the connection, which happened to my Spectrum when I looked at it after many years of non use.

Comment

This is quite the time capsule, it has all the wrenches and tools, the strap locks are in there along with a schematic of the electronics and the booklet of info and the inspection tag showing it was hand set up, in December 84, prior to being sold in 1985.