Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Matt's Music Jack Butler Run

Hey Everyone.

I want to start by saying that I am not affiliated with @mattsmusic in any way. I am just a guitarist trying to organize a limited edition run of a guitar that I have wanted for years.

On TGP earlier today, Matt's Music indicated they wanted to do another Limited Edition run of a Jackson Jack Butler San Dimas guitar. This is the "Crossroads" guitar that Steve Vai was playing in the infamous guitar duel with Ralph Machio.

https://reverb.com/item/962811-jack...ads-jack-butler-replica-san-dimas-red-sparkle

http://www.mattsmusic.com/JAX9912-prod.html

Anyone who is interested in joining this run, please chime in. We need at minimum 5 guitars in the run for Jackson to agree to produce the run. We currently have 3 guitars committed, so we are just 2 away!

We have pieced together the spec (or as close as we can get them without getting the Jackson Custom Shop involved) of this original run and made some tweaks. The following is the preliminary specs we are starting with. For anyone joining the run, we will come to a final consensus on the specs before the run goes forward.

There are some specs on the original run that I could not specify on this form. These are the differences:

Floyd Rose:
    • Screw in mounting studs were used on the original. I think we should go with modern insert mounting studs instead because they greatly increase the longevity of the guitar
    • The nut was rear mounted (Screws in back of neck). I think we should go with modern front mounted nut again due to improved neck durability with front mounting
    • No cover on tremolo cavity
    Neck Plate
    • A Charvel neck plate was used on the 2012/2015 run. This is an accurate detail of the Crossroads guitar that was verified back in 2012. Could we make this happen? If not, a Jackson Dinky neck plate is fine
    Body