Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

NOS DiMarzio Branded Strat. Charvel? School me!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NOS DiMarzio Branded Strat. Charvel? School me!

Hey Folks, first post, happy to be here. Hoping to get an education on the DiMarzio branded necks and bodies from the early 80's. I come from vintage Japanese guitars- Tokai, Greco/Ibanez, Fujigen, Matsumoku, that is my usual grounds.

I am a professional Illustrator for things like D&D and Magic the Gathering. And I obsess about guitars when not painting. And sometimes I paint ON guitars like this 3A!
    IMG_8496 by da12c5acb43eb6d8a5cc7de0d28b865c, on Flickr

So at Goodwill I found DiMarzio Branded Strat that was never fully assembled. Never had a pickguard or even a jack plate screwed to it. From back when DiMarzio was selling parts that other manufacturers made. Charvel, Esp and more.

236704428124915elns by da12c5acb43eb6d8a5cc7de0d28b865c, on Flickr

I have shown to this to a few folks, and I can't get confirmation or hard evidence either way, that it is or isn't a Charvel made guitar body. I am hoping for pics from y'all!

Understand I am fine if it isn't Charvel! This thing is rad as hell. It is a dimarzio strat and I will love the hell out of it. But please enlighten me, because I'd like to know where it came from!

I agree that there is little chance the NECK is Charvel. (Though let me know if you know who made it!) For one thing it is dated Feb 1982. DiMarzio actually pointed me to Spector as they were making necks for Dimarzio up till late 82. Another suggestion is that is is ESP because it is a pretty strong V that tapers to almost a C at the heel. Feels so cool! I am waiting to hear back from Spector on if they made it.