Grounding a Push Pull pot?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grounding a Push Pull pot?

This is probably a real "beginner" question.

I've been soldering for a while (PCB's) so that's not a problem, but it's my first time doing any electrical work on guitars, so here goes.

I bought a push pull volume pot so that I can coil split a JB.

The wiring diagram on Seymour Duncan's site looks like this:

http://www.seymourduncan.com/support/wiring-diagrams/schematics.php?schematic=1hum_1vol_split

The push pull pot I bought looks like this:

Because the switch part is directly underneath the "pot" portion, there is very little space to solder the leftmost terminal onto to ground it. Can I use a short piece of wire to ground the leftmost terminal? And also, can I do the ground connections onto the side of the "pot" instead of the bottom, which is inaccessible due to the switch being mounted thereon?

Thanks in advance for any and all help!

-QR
    Last edited by QuantumRider; 02-04-2009, 10:02 PM.
    Until you get weaned off the boobie, you are going to have to do what the wife wants too. -Rsmacker

Yes.

You can use a wire.

You can bend tabs to make it closer to the casing.

Is this going in an SL2H or other USA guitar? I ask because I want to do the same, but I want a full sized pot to match the full sized hole in my SL2H. I found them a while back for my LP (CTS, SPST switch, not a DPDT), but now I can't find them any more.

Comment

Thanks Don

And it's OK to solder the wire to the side of the pot casing instead of the bottom?

Actually, this is for my 1 hum MIJ Charvel, so the sizes of the hole and the pot are both metric.

Until you get weaned off the boobie, you are going to have to do what the wife wants too. -Rsmacker

Comment

Originally posted by QuantumRider View Post
        And it's OK to solder the wire to the side of the pot casing instead of the bottom?
        Absolutely fine!

Nice axe!

Comment

Thanks SloMo