trem help .. someone ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• trem help .. someone ?

ok, here's where I make myself sound like a complete novice ..

JT6 or OFR, I can tune a guitar perfectly, but ...

I dive bomb the trem, let the bar return slowly to it's natural position, and when I let go, I'm ever so slightly flat, enough to notice.

I pull the trem bar back, let the strings slowly slacken to their natural position, and I'm slightly sharp.
    Both ways, the guitar is ( mostly ) in tune with itself, just out of tune to how it was pre-wammy bar action.

I've investigated trem springs, number, layout, neck screws, shims, heaven knows what else, and run up against a complete blank.

Over the years I've learned to live with this, tuning a guitar 'flat' ( after a dive bomb ) so I know how to return it to pitch, but recently it's been bugging me again, and I've decided I need to know ..

Guys, I have no idea what's happening, or more importantly, what the cure is.
    Is it only me suffers from this?

Help?

Im not a floyd expert but my common sense would say that the strings are slipping, either at the tail or the headstock. Make sure the screws are tight in the locking nut etc..

Cant really help ne more
    Marshall JCM800 2203
    G12K-100w Cabinet
    Jackson RR24

Comment

if it's the nut walking then dive bomb makes the strings sharp, pull-up makes it flat, so it's not that.