PU Wiring Novice Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PU Wiring Novice Questions

OK, I'm not a total newbie to wiring PUs. I've done it before, but only a couple of times. (My soldering skills pretty much suck. But I do get the job done.) Anyways, a "just in case" question...

So I just swapped out the PUs on one of my Charvels. H-S layout, 1 volume, 3-way toggle. Pretty simple. Dimarzio PUs, so black and white are soldered together, red goes to hot (3-way), green and bare go to ground (a screw which, itself, is wired to the trem claw). Tune her up, plug her in, and everything seems to be working fine. A successful swap job.

However, as I was wiring the SC PU, I realized there was no bare (ground) wire for that pickup. I did solder the green wire to ground for it. But there just wasn't a bare wire on the PU at all. Black, white, red and green only. Should I be concerned about this? I special ordered the PU without the standard triangular flange, to fit the existing body route - so maybe that has something to do with it?

Probably a dumb question, but better safe than sorry. Thanks in advance.

I have no experience with dimarzio singles myself, but so long as there are no hums or other unwanted noise I wouldn't worry about it. That might be normal for Dimarzio singles. You could just peal back the shielding a little bit further to see if there's any bare wire further down and then just close it back up with a small piece of electrical tape.

You could also email Dimarzio as well and ask them.
    Guitars:
    '04 Jackson SL1 - Flametop Cabo Blue Trans Burst
    '94 Charvel Predator - Fire Crackle
    '77 Ibanez LP Custom Copy - Black
    Amp:
    VOX AD30VT

Comment

http://guitarelectronics.com They list DiMarzio wiring colors
      Really? well screw Mark Twain.

Comment

Uhmmm, hello? I already knew the Dimarzio wiring colors, and where they should go.