Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clean-up an old Charvel

Hey All-

I have a Model 3 enroute and am really unsure of the metal's condition (Floyd, screws, switch, etc) as the pics I was working from were very poor. But, I am assuming no matter how mint it is, I am going to want to pull the thing apart for a full cleaning. Just real particular about my stuff.

Since this will be my first vintage Charvel, and first Floyd-equppied guitar, I am hoping y'all can help me out.

Should I completely dismantle this thing or may I get myself in to deep? Best case, I would like to remove all screws, the Floyd, the locking nut, etc, but leave the tuners. Then, take all of the metal parts and clean them to remove grime and rust, and to prevent them from rusting further. I would also like to clean up the frets and fretboard as long as I am at it.

I have never done this before, so have no idea what tools, materials, oil, etc to use. I have also never strung and set-up a Floyd before (this is the JT-6) and will be putting new 9s on this guitar (have no idea what guage is on there now).

Should this be something I do myself, or should I pay someone else to do it? While I may be inexperienced, I am very anal about my stuff and don't want to pay someone to do a poor, incomplete job...on the other hand, I don't want to screw this up myself, either.

What do you all think?

I am in the Minneapolis metro area so if there are any JCFers from here that could do it, or know someone who could, I would appreciate hearing from you as well.

Thanks in advance!

If all you want to do is take off the Floyd and clean it as well as clean up your fretboard then this is an easy job.

Once the springs are removed from the back of the guitar, the Floyd comes right off.

If you are putting on a new gauge you will have to adjust the plate on the back of the guitar to ease or gain tension in order to keep the Floyd Rose level.