Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chemical stripper questions

Hello everyone.

I did a search on the forum and tried to find a good way to strip the original paint off my old Jackson Kelly Std. If I'm not mistaken, the original paint on it is polyurethane or something since it is tough as hell.

The paint on the guitar is beat to hell, there are a lot of scratches, chips, and swirl marks.

I read that Klean-Strip Aircraft Remover works well, but there are aerosol cans and liquid versions. Which one should I get? Is one more effective than the other?

There is also a copper colored aerosol can/gallon that apparently works on wood. It is called Klean-Strip Premium Stripper.

I'm confused on which one to get, and I don't know if the results will be good in the end, so I'm looking for some advice.

Keep in mind I'm a noob when it comes to stripping finishes, I really like this guitar and I feel it deserves a decent paint job. (White w/Black bevels)

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Charvel Model 6
    Jackson Kelly Professional Standard
    Randall RG75 G3

It is called Klean-Strip Premium Stripper.
    I think this is the stuff I used. I wouldn't use this stuff in a spray unless you have a mask. Even with gloves if this shit hits your skin it burns. But it works.

Comment

Originally posted by Soulreaper View Post
      I read that Klean-Strip Aircraft Remover works well, but there are aerosol cans and liquid versions. Which one should I get? Is one more effective than the other?
      If you are going the stripper route, I've used the Aircraft stipper with decent results, but to be honest, I would use a heatgun from Harbor Freight and a metal scrapper (lightly!) to strip it.

Takes about an hour, use a NiOSH mask as the fumes are bad either way you do it!
      Crime doesn't pay. Neither does lutherie...

Comment

Aircraft stripper is what I have used (the non stink kind!) and it does a great job.