Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Volume Potentiometer For A Dinky Model Jackson

Hey everyone,
    I need to replace my voluime potentiometer and was wondering if anyone knows where i can get the right size and specifications for my dinky model jackson.

The one i have now makes horrible crackling sounds when i turn the volume knob up and down and although i had someone check it out and clean it up for me, it only helped reduce the noise a little and so i guess i have a bad pot that needs to be replaced.

Im new to this and so far I know that i need one that is quarter size and is A500k.

Here are some pics so that someone can hopefully estimate the size diameters for the shaft and ect.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/janpequeno
    You Tube: http://www.youtube.com/user/jpequeno0725/videos

I don't recall the exact size, but go with Metric/Import if they are labeled. Some brands like Mighty Mite that are made overseas aren't just and drop right in. Fwiw, you may want to try a 500k and a 250k to see what you like best tonally if you are dealing with a Duncan JB in the bridge.

Comment

It's also worth maybe having somebody put standard size CTS pots in there if it's an import. You'll get a more reliable pot that actually sounds better in conjunction with a decent capacitor of your choice.
      There is no "team" in "Fuck You!"

Comment

I'd go with a RS Guitar Works Superpot 500K (Long Stem). If the hole is too small diameter wise, I'd ream to 3/8" (10mm). The RS CTS Superpot is excellent. They are made to higher tolerences and use better materials than the standard CTS pots.
        Tone is like Art: Your opinion is valid. Listen, learn, have fun, draw your own conclusions.

Comment